Marie Lassen "Unsung Hero" Award

Every year, the Monmouth-Ocean Chapter awards a scholarship in memory of a past chapter officer, Marie Lassen.

Marie did a lot of work,  but she was a 'behind the scenes' type of person. So, Marie's award goes to a member who has helped the chapter a lot during the year, not for any glory or recognition, but kind of incognito. The chapter calls it the Unsung Hero Award.

The current Officers determine who the year's award should go to and it is presented at Coders' Day with an additional Educational Scholarship Award.

List of Unsung Hero Awardees:

2010 Lynda Tebbs, CPC

2011 Felecia Bernstein, CPC

2012 Claire G. Bartkewicz, CPC-H

2013 Bonnie J. lvler, CPC, RHIA

2014 Asaad Samra, M.D.

2015 Nancy Clark, CPC, COC, CPMA, CPB, CPC-1

2016 No conference

2017 Kim A. Bevel, CPC-A

2018 Marie Defilippis

2019 Kara Butala, CPC


The Felecia Bernstein Kindness Award

This award is given to the person who exemplifies Felecia Bernstein's kindness of heart and always making a difference for those she interacted with both in her work with Rose's Fund and her day to day activities and job.

List of Felecia Bernstein Kindness Awardees

 2019 Kim Bevel, CPC